DISCARDING CARDS FAQ:
Q: Can I discard cards at any time, even when it’s not my turn?
A: Yes. But you cannot discard cards during a battle with an opponent.
Q: Can I discard cards during a battle?
A: No. Once you play a Battle Card, a battle has officially started and you cannot discard cards until after the battle is over.
If an opponent plays a Battle Card against you, a battle has officially begun and you cannot discard any cards until after the battle is over.
If you land on a Battle Space, you may discard cards until you declare a battle against an opponent. Once you initiate a battle, you cannot discard cards.
In the Advanced game, if an opponent lands on your space, you may discard cards until you declare a battle against that player. Once you initiate a battle, you can no longer discard any cards.
Q: If I fight a battle for 4 cards, do I have to take all (or any) of the 4 cards?
A: No. If you don’t want to take them, you don’t have to. You may let the other player keep them, or you may take them and discard them.
Q: If the Pit is full, may I still discard the Albatross Card (by discarding or returning a Key Card)?
A: Yes. If you want to discard the Albatross Card or the Goat Card, you may do so even if the Pit is full. Simply discard/return cards.